First Day

Today was my first day at my new job.

I have been in Brisbane for a week and a half now and I am very glad that I came here well before I started work. There have been so many things to do in preparation.

I have

  • settled into my unit – worked out how to use the washing machine/ dryer; unpacked and put my clothes into drawers and wardrobes
  • purchased a few items that seemed to be missing from my unit – tongs (incredibly necessary and useful in the kitchen), a sharp knife (the one here alleges to be sharp, but is deluded), a power board
  • walked the streets of my new neighbourhood – found the supermarket (a ten minute walk), local restaurants and take aways (these abound!), wandered over to the city (a 25 minute walk)
  • found a great walking route for the weekends along the river and across a walking bridge
  • cooked and frozen a few meals for one for those mid-week nights when I can’t find the energy

I’m glad I had the time to do these things before starting work. I would have been exhausted trying to settle into a new job and a new routine in a new location all at the same time.

One very good thing is that my Pete is here with me now and will be for the next week. The firm he works for is based here and is a five minute walk from my office. Very conventient, don’t you think? He has been asked to do some training here so managed to time it well.

When I came home from my first very enjoyable day at my new job these were waiting for me on the kitchen bench.

He’s avery good man.

28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “First Day

  1. Aaaaawwww…. a good looker, a good finder, and a keeper.

    Glad to hear you are settling in. xo

  2. He’s a keeper! Sounds like you are doing fine & had an enjoyable first day! This job stint will be fun for you!

  3. Woo-hoo! Good job all round!

  4. He’s lovely! Hope it all works out for you Tracey.

  5. What a lovely man you have! It must be very exciting to start this new job. Take care!

  6. Beth

    Aaaawwwwww…..there’s a good man!

  7. That all sounds very good. I’m glad Pete is there for your first week. What a sweetie to give you flowers too.

  8. A very good man indeed. That bit we’ve discussed on here before about the prior planning/preparation leading to good performance applies I think. You sorted it out ahead and would have felt prepared and ready by doing so.

    P.S. Is that 25 minute a slow walk?

  9. I’m so glad Pete is there too. And looking forward to hearing more about your Brisbane adventure.

    Proper preparation prevents piss poor performance – a mantra we used a lot on our recent camping trip!

  10. S

    Hey T, glad you had a great first day. What a lovely surprise to come home to. Flowers!!!! Talk to you soon

  11. Ginger

    I’m glad you had a good first day. The flowers are gorgeous 🙂

  12. Fairlie

    Glad things are working out so well! You are definitely a planner. Good on you. Me? I probably would have turned up the night before, worn clothes out of a suitcase for the first week, and lived off a packet of SAO crackers. Just as well it’s not me doing what you’re doing!

  13. Glad all is going so well. I have a few busy weekends ahead – but June is looking good to meet up. Actually you could still be here when a little Purple Giraffe visits! michelle

Leave a Reply

