Changes Afoot

In December last year I made some decisions about professional ambitions that I held. I set my sights on a job in a particular place, thinking that I would work towards that goal over the next twelve months.

In February I was surprised to see a temporary position offered. I knew that it was earlier than I had wanted, but I made the decision to apply. I held no expectations. I just felt it was important to step into the unknown, move out of my comfort zone and just see what happened. This is a remarkable attitude for one who minimises risk as much as I do.

I submitted an application. I was short-listed. My referees were contacted. Then, earlier this week,  I was offered and accepted the temporary position.

Here’s where it starts to get tricky…

The job is 1600km away from home. A two hour flight, a sixteen hour drive.

The position is for eleven weeks.

I am currently looking for a place to live for that time.

Exciting…

Scary…

Really happening!

27 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

27 responses to “Changes Afoot

  1. Great news Tracey!! I am sure you will enjoy your new career change and a break from your usual routine. It is fun to shake things up every now and then.

  2. Ginger

    Ohhh, how exciting. It’s always scary when you jump into the unknown! Where are you moving too? Crossing my fingers for you that it will either last longer than 11 weeks or it will enable you to get something similar closer to home 🙂

  3. Wow Tracey,

    Congratulations and Good Luck.

  4. Well firstly CONGRATULATIONS!!! Go You!! And I’m not in the least surprised.

    But, wow, away from your family for 11 weeks? You’ll caatch up on weekends, though, right?

  5. You are right, it IS scary, and exciting, and ohhh so many things!

    My sister was (unwillingly) posted to Darwin in her job for 12 weeks, and you know what? She is half way through it already and it only feels like she has been gone a couple of weeks.

    It may well give you the foothold into the dream job you want, so go for it!

    You are so lucky to have a supportive family who enables you to do something like that.

    You will still be able to blog though, won’t you? Please don’t tell me I have to do without for that long, because I simply won’t stand for it. 🙂

  6. Yay – big news! Well done!! Lots of luck and good wishes from us. xxx

  7. Gosh! Very scary and exciting but congratulations and good luck!

  8. Oooh-errr – that sounds both exciting and scary. So glad you’re going to go for it!!!

  9. Congratulations ! I snuck on to facebook and saw this news – as Aunty Evil says I hope you will continue to blog as it will be fascinating to see that city through your eyes…

    x

  10. Di

    Great news Tracey – mmmmm – 1600km away sounds like it could be Brissy??? Hope everything goes well with the new job. Go for it and make the most of it.

  11. so very exciting!! best of luck with it. i’m so happy that it worked out for you.

  12. How exciting. I’m sure you are both excited and nervous. 1600 km is a long way from home. Technology will help you stay in touch and your Pete is so organized, I’m sure he’ll keep things running smoothly while you’re away.

  13. How very exciting!! Scary is good though – it makes it all the more joyous when we survive!!

Leave a Reply

