Home for Christmas

I’m a little obsessed with appliqueing houses at the moment. I want to make quilts and quilts and quilts all with little rows of houses with pointy roof shapes and tiny bright windows.

Houses seemed just the thing for my Christmas deocrations this year. If I had been organised and thought of this BEFORE it was already December I could have done something beautiful like Lisa did. Her advent houses, with their tiny pockets and numbering, are inspired. Alas I got organised well into December when I suddenly remembered I needed some gifts to give in just in five days and I did not yet have them.

So I whipped these up:

Well, that’s how they started, then I stitched around them…

trimmed them back…

and added a little loop for hanging.

Ten of these little babies left my sewing table in just one night. (admittedly a rather late night) I am all about the hurry and the haste.

If you want to make some too, you should click right here and I’ll give you a pattern. Or you could head on over to the Free Patterns page and find it there too.

Happy stitching.

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Home for Christmas

  1. They look great. I love the ric-rac strap too.

  2. Oh my goodness, looks like I might have a new craft addiction!

  3. I LOVE these!!! Hoping I have enough time to whip some of them up amist all my other Christmas quilting projects!!! Thank you for the pattern!

  4. Those are wonderful…and, if I did, I would.

  5. Thanks for planting that tune in my head! I’ll be humming all evening!

  6. very cute! i want an all quilted christmas decor tree and these will be perfect!!!

  7. These are very cute – well done.

Leave a Reply

