Red…

Red is a really strong colour.

After I had made these blocks and laid them out on the table I took this photo to see whether the red was evenly distributed across the quilt.

Sometimes, after stitching a lot of blocks together, I suddenly see an unexpected pattern caused by a dominant colour. I don’t like it when that happens, but a quick photo lets me see it with different eyes.

It’s a whole lot better than unpicking…

PS I have already moved one of these blocks. I didn’t like the two red horizontal stripes diagonally across from each other.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Red…

  1. I like to photograph my layouts to check them over too – it’s funny how different they seem when seen through a lens.

  2. Beautiful fabrics you are using Tracey. And I love red.

  3. I’ve never thought of taking a photo of a proposed layout! Perhaps that’s why my quilts have never been published?! LOL!

  4. Lovely fabrics you’re using there…and I don’t think the red dominates at all.

  5. The red really does pop in the photo, doesn’t it. What a good technique that is.

  6. I don’t know if it was because I had “red” on the brain or not, but it does stand out. And once you pointed out the horizontal thing, I could see that too! Maybe I’m becoming more craft observant? Ugh. The thought of all that unpicking.

Leave a Reply

