Landfall and Brainwaves

Cyclone Ului made landfall about 200km south of here in the middle of the night last night. I went to bed well after 1am because I had to be sure that it had crossed the coast before I could sleep. We experienced little more than a strong breeze here, but are thinking about those who were in the path of the storm.

The other thing that has been keeping me up at night – in a good way – is a new quilt design.

Last week I received some beautiful Verna fabrics designed by Kate Spain.

I just love these, but they have to be made into a quilt and returned to Quilters Companion Magazine for publication in less than a month.

I spent all week looking at them. Organising them into colours, re-organising them into other groups then grouping them again.

Finally I came up with a design which pleases me, found my trusty coloured pencils and wrote up my cutting instructions.

Now it’s time to get sewing. Although… I might just need to take a quick kip first.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Landfall and Brainwaves

  1. Gorgeous fabrics. I’m glad the cyclone didn’t blow directly on you.

  2. Glad to hear you are safe!! What beautiful fabrics. A month isn’t much of a turn around. Hope you make some great progress.

  3. Good news for you! How exciting – new fabrics – new quilt!

  4. So glad to hear that you are safe. Looking forward to seeing the new quilt – I loved the pirate quilt and know that it would have been the perfect gift for MasterM when he was little.

  5. Glad all is well with you!

    Get to it girl!

  6. How exciting – good luck with your wonderful inspirational design! ( stop fondling the fabric and get to it! )

    So very glad that you weren’t in the firing line – but not good for those who were.

  7. All that potential in those little bits of fabric. So lovely.

  8. These fabrics are just lovely! Have fun.

  9. ooo, Tracey! can’t wait to see what you’ve come up with for your quilt design!! thank you so much for your verna love (she loves you right back)! hugs, kate

  10. i forgot to say how thankful i am that you weren’t in the path of the storm…and hope everyone who was made it through ok. xo

  11. Pingback: A New Generation « Peppermint Patcher

Leave a Reply

