Crabby… not so much.

Did you know I am cancerian? Sometimes we crabs like to retreat into our shells. This is where I have been for the past little while, safely tucked up inside my shell.

Life has gone on, even though I have not acknowledged it so I give you the dot point version:

  • Pip left hospital and recuperated in our Sydney motel rooms for a few days.
  • Miss Ashy and I caught the train into Sydney city, got lost and called my Pete who used google maps to give us directions.
  • I had yum cha in Sydney with Megan. She was fabulous company and we talked about all manner of things while eating all manner of food.
  • We left Sydney and drove for four days straight, roughly 700 kilometres per day, all the way home.
  • I suffered dreadfully from motion sickness two days into our journey, but we pushed on regardless.
  • I spent two full days with a spinning head upon our arrival in Townsville.
  • We took Pip for a wound check. The doctor was impressed with his healing and sent us on our way never to return again!
  • It was hot and humid and we were sweaty and whingy.
  • My Pete returned to work.
  • I bought new diaries for the year and wrote neatly in them with sharpened lead pencils.
  • I bought school supplies for Pip and he organised himself in preparation for a new year.
  • I made a Christmas quilt. A little out of season, but it is a magazine commission for a Christmas in July edition.
  • I went back to work.
  • Someone at my work spilled their coffee on my brand new neatly marked diary making a stain in November and December.
  • We watched a cyclone come down the coast.
  • It rained and rained and rained and rained.
  • Pip went back to school.
  • It rained and rained and rained and rained.
  • Ashy got her licence and drove herself to and from work.
  • I sat on the couch while Ashy drove herself to and from work feeling delighted.

AND NOW… I think it’s time to come out of my shell and face the world again.

30 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

30 responses to “Crabby… not so much.

  1. Ginger

    Welcome Back!

  2. I wondered where you were at!

    Glad to see you back, safe and well.

    And that’s what I call a roadtrip!

  3. Awesome.

    I’m back too.

  4. I hope the sun is finally out once you emerge from your shell! You were really busy in there, huh?

  5. Welcome back (I’m a Cancerian too!)

  6. Sounds like you were busy and traveling in your hibernation!

    Are you going to give us a little peek at your Christmas in July quilt? Please?

  7. Glad all is well, from a fellow Cancerian xxx

  8. Wow – what a list – hope things calm down a bit now – nice to see you back 🙂

  9. It’s good to see you back. You’ve been on such a journey! I hope things run smoothly now and there’s no more lurching feelings!

  10. And have you bought the replacement diary for the ruined one yet, hmm?

    • So far I have been brave and perservered with the diary. I had already done so much neat work in it. I’ll probably feel my disappointment well up again when I get to November and the stain is visible every day.

  11. M

    I know the feeling. I’ve been in my shell as well. For a Saggitarian that’s a major event!

    It was great to finally meet in person while you were in Sydney and I feel privileged to meet the lovely Ashy as well. Congrats on the driver’s licence BTW.

  12. Just so glad to hear the sound of your voice and know that you are all well.

  13. Glad you got back safe and sound. I’m still cheesed off I missed having lunch with you and having to spend it with my REAL crabby father (and he isn’t Cancerian) instead!

    I’ve got something to send you, I don’t know if you’d want it or not, but that’s bad luck cos you are getting it anyway. If you don’t want it you can give it to Kirsty. Can you send me your address, I appear to have lost it since Christmas!! See what happens when you tidy up?

    (actually, on writing this post I realised the thing I want to send you is missing as well. Therefore, I will send it when I find it!!)

  14. Victoria

    Hi Tracey
    I’m new to your blog, just wanted to say welcome back and I’m so glad to hear the recovery is going well. Big relief I’m sure.
    V x

  15. I have a few very special Cancerian friends who hide in their shells too. I am a Pisces so get along well with Cancerians – I just swim around them.

  16. We have some things in common!

Leave a Reply

