The King was in his Counting House

Counting all his money…

thekingwasinhiscountinghouse

Pip wanted a new mouse for his computer and some art pens to complete a project.

A trip was taken to the office supplies store.

The pens were selected, then he moved to the computer mouse section.

He found the perfect mouse. Ideal for his needs, shiny, bright and $80.

Without hesitation he put it back on the shelf and picked up the less than $20 model.

“You can afford it, can’t you?” I ask. (I know he has cash in the four-figures in the bank from the past years of birthday and Christmas money.)

“I can, but I don’t want to waste my money.” he replies quickly.

“Are you saving it for something?” I wonder.

“No”, he says. “I just don’t like wasting money.”

I can hear my Scottish ancestors whispering in his ear, “Be canny with your money, wee lad. Be canny with your money.”

He’s listening…

34 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

34 responses to “The King was in his Counting House

  1. I sometimes hear my aunt’s voice in my ear asking “is it a want or a need?”.

  2. M

    I used to be the person who always bought the cheapest model but after living with Firegazer for over 20 years I’ve learnt that sometimes the best is best to get. It’s worth it for the love you get from it alone. Go back and get the $80 model Pip. You’ll smile every time you use it.

  3. Good on him! Sometimes I hear my Scottish grandparents whispering in my ear too…

  4. candiedfabrics

    Great kid! Great Mom!

  5. Good lad. $80 for a mouse, good lord – does it need to be fed cheese too?

  6. My boy is just like that too!! I just can’t imagine where he gets it from … not me!! x

  7. Beth

    In this economy that’s the best lesson you could share with him!

  8. grandma

    It must be from his ancestors. I can hear Grandma Morrison applauding him. His Mum would have spent $80 because that was the best for her needs; his Dad would have asked wasn’t there a super-dooper model worth $300 and bought that.

  9. Oooh — I applaud his thrift, and his absolute right to choose … but … I have to agree with M.
    If this were my dilemma, I’d argue that using a good-looking, well-designed $80 mouse for, say, just one hour a day, every day, works out to about 22 cents a day — not much to use a tool you really, really love and want!
    But then, my ancestors were a weird mob!

  10. I suppose they are right, the ones who say “buy the better one”. They do get a lot of use, day in and day out.

    But I balk at the prices of these things too, and would most likely have picked the $20 as well.

    I am not a tightwad by any means, nor canny with my money! I would rather spend my money on something that I will keep enjoying.

    Which doesn’t make sense really, because a mouse that doesn’t work well is a much despised object. But it is one of those things that you take for granted until it plays up.

  11. Hurrah for choice, Pip! You get to decide your priorities!

  12. Um. Could I borrow your Scottish ancestors the next time I wander into a fabric shop?

  13. It’s funny how they don’t like spending their own money, isn’t it?!

  14. pompomrouge

    Hmmm, somewhere in his future is a woman who will make good use of all that unwasted dosh.

  15. CCLEUNG Webpage design Provider will conduct our best in giving large companies the exact qualified, alluring video format plus huge guaranteeing that to help them improve their internet business plus expand customers plus profit. http://www.vancouverwebdesignseo.com/

Leave a Reply

