I’ve got Mail

Sorry for my absence from my blog and yours. We have been a very germy household. First my Pete and then I have had a yucky virus. For three days I just laid in my bed and read books (actually, that part was kind of enjoyable) with aches and pains and a head full of slime. Too disgusting to be near anyone but those unfortunate enough to have to live with me.

Some lovely things did happen during those groggy, hazy days.

It was mothers’ day and my children were very sweet and kind to me. We had a family dinner in celebration.

My Pete cleaned the whole house and did ALL of the washing. He really did – while I lay sleeping and reading.

On the day I was feeling a little better I walked outside to collect the mail and found this.

i'vegotmail1

A tiny green frog sleeping on my letter box.

Once he had been carefully removed I found something even better inside the letter box.

Something sent from across the oceans.

Something beautifully scented and divinely packaged.

i'vegotmail2

Gorgeous handmade soaps from the very clever and extremely productive Julia B.

i'vegotmail3

I wish that you could smell them. They are beyond lovely.

Thank you for your generosity, Julia. Something is on its way to you too. I hope it arrives soon.

33 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

33 responses to “I’ve got Mail

  1. Lovely.

    Glad you’re feeling better. I want to know, did the frog give you a fright? I know I would have got one hell of a fright to see a little creature waiting on the mailbox. I used to sh*t myself getting my mail in FNQ. I had a tenant living in my mailbox. A Gecko tenant. *shiver*

  2. Hi Tracey! Thankyou for the lovely (and kind) comments. Glad you are feeling much better. I have missed you in blogland! x

  3. Really, there is nothing nicer than smellies, & a small green delicate frog!
    Lucky you!
    Hope the slimies & all the nasties have now left your household!!XX

  4. I hope you are feeling better! Happy belated Mother’s Day!

  5. Doesn’t getting a mysterious happy package in the mail make you glow? I got one yesterday and plan to share it online soon too! Hope you are feeling better!

  6. I like reptiles and amphibians as long as there is a decent buffer zone between us. Abby chased me round the patio a few weeks with a frog.

    Glad you are better. What a lovely surprise in your letter box. What do they smell like? Anything familiar?

  7. I missed you! Sorry you weren’t feeling ‘up to snuff’; glad you are better. Bless Pete’s heart for doing the cleaning and the washing..what a guy!

    Lovely surprise you received from Julia!

  8. So glad that you are feeling better. What a lovely surprise in the mail…. the soap and the frog!

  9. grandma

    Thanks for hosting the family dinner. I guess it was a case of have it at your place, or you miss out, so, your place (with take-away) was the best choice. Guitar hero as background music with our favourite musicians wouldn’t have happened at any fancy restaurant (or even pub) that I know. Jo-Jo plays a mean set of drums; enthusiastic, with all the fancy cross-arm moves in place. Hope that is the end of the line for the mexican blamed bug.

  10. Wow. Pete wins husband of the year. The house got cleaned while you were sick?!?!? I would pull a sicky every other week if I thought that could happen.

    Happy Mothers Day.

    Was that sealing wax on your soaps? How gorgeous.

  11. What a lovely trip to the mailbox. Gotta love those nice little suprises in life.

  12. I’m torn between frog envy and soap envy!

  13. Wow I love that frog! Glad you rae finally feeling better!

  14. Glad you’re feeling better! What beautiful packaging.

  15. Mmmm, that soap looks good!
    Hope you’re on your way to complete recovery.

  16. I’d rather have a frog on my mailbox than snails inside it. I hate taking mail out to find a slimy snail attached which has eaten its way through the envelope.

    I wouldn’t mind finding lovely soaps in there though.

  17. All I can say is “Thank heavens for Pete the Postman” who delivers our letters to the front door.

    So glad to hear that you are on the mend.

Leave a Reply

