My Toughest Interview EVER!

I have succumbed to the interview meme that is working its way around blogs at the moment. I asked the very lovely Stomper Girl to provide my five questions. She has asked me some incredibly tough questions. This post has taken me almost an hour and a half to write! I have been very reflective in my answers and I hope that Miss Caroline is pleased with the answers I have given. I have rushed my response because I know she is about to head off for a few beachy days and I’m certain she cannot begin her holiday without knowing the answers to these thorny questions…

What is your favourite ever love song and why?

You hit my soft spot straight away, but OH, I hate to play favourites. I’m a sucker for a love song, basically I love any falling in love moment. There are a lot of lines in songs that come to mind immediately when I think of love songs. It is often just one line that gets me, a single thought of love expressed as poetry in a song. When I hear that one line it takes my breath away, it pulls at my heart and very nearly makes me cry.

Hey There Delilah – a thousand miles seems pretty far, but they’ve got planes and trains and cars, I’d walk to you if I had no other way.

Sew My Name – Know I’m always thinking about you and how you always wear me well, you can’t outgrow something sewn under your skin, so I will always wear you well.

Don’t Worry, Baby – If you knew how much I love you baby, nothing could go wrong with you. What she does to me, when she makes love to me.

I’ll Follow You into the Dark – If there’s no one beside you when your soul embarks, I’ll follow you into the dark.

First Day of my Life – Yours is the first face that I saw, think I was blind before I met you. (watch this film clip with a tissue)

There She Goes – There she goes, there she goes again, and I just can’t contain this feeling that remains. She calls my name.

You’re All I Have – It’s so clear now that you are all that I have, I have no fear because you are all that I have.

My absolute favourite, the one which is the truth, the one which I can hardly sing for tears, but I manage to… really loudly.

This is the way, I always dreamed it would be, the way that it is, when you are holding me:

I have an arrangement with Fixit that I’m allowed to heartlessly dump him should Billy Bragg, Hugh Grant or David Tennant ever call me.  Who is on your list?
Straight up, it is Johnny Depp – he’s been there since the 21 Jump Street era. I am very loyal. He rarely disappoints me. Others come and go – Hamish Blake, Wil Anderson are up there, but I’d dump them for Johnny too.
When I read quilting blogs I’m always struck by the element of supportiveness you have with each other. Coming from dancing, which can get a bit competitive and occasionally bitchy, I find this wonderful. Does it ever get bitchy or competitive in quilt-world?  (Digging for dirt here)
Get a group of women in any place and there’ll be bitchiness, it is a genetic guarantee! Having said that, I do find quilting to be very supportive. I very rarely hear of one quilter trying to bring another quilter down. Although it is a competitive industry there is a distinct lack of negative competitiveness. Quilters do have to be careful with their copyright and I am an enormous advocate for people protecting their intellectual property. I would never copy the pattern of another quilter and am quite happy to openly articulate my disapproval to anyone who does.
Besides your gorgeous children, what are your 3 best achievements in life to date?
Three things. This is kind of tough. I don’t know. I am very proud to have been published a number of times in quilting magazines. I have a degree and am well respected in my workplace. I am most proud of the life that I have created with my Pete. We live comfortably and happily. We don’t stress, we don’t worry, we know that whatever happens we will always be fine. We could have lived a more ambitious life – we both work in industries that would have rewarded us for our ambition and talents, but we have the most wonderful balance in our lives. We don’t aspire to material gains, we don’t need for anything, so why would we accept extra stress? I hope we created a life that left our children happy, not because they had ‘stuff’, but because we were all in it together.
You’ve got 4 weeks to get fit, what would you do?
Hmmm. It is just over four weeks until I come to Melbourne to visit you. Is there an underlying message to this question?
If I had four weeks to get fit I would walk and walk and walk. Then stop to stretch and walk again. I’d get a massage or two during that four weeks, just to work out the knots before I start walking again.
***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***
Please, everyone leave me a link below to any love songs you think I have forgotten. Tell me that line in the song that gets you.  I’ll have a box of tissues here at the ready. I definitely need to hear this from you Stomper.
If you would like to be interviewed and you think you can stand the heat of five questions from me, then you need just ask. I’ll email your questions to you.
Thanks for the questions, Stomper. You were very thoughtful in putting together this interview. I enjoyed it.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “My Toughest Interview EVER!

  1. Bravo, Tracey and thanks for doing this before I go offline.

    Your life achievements are what I thought you would say because I know we feel the same way about some stuff and the life balance issue is paramount.

    Your love song quotes are so beautiful. They touched my heart too.
    Here’s some lovesong moments from me

    Every day I Write The Book Elvis Costello

    In a perfect world where everything was equal I’d still own the film rights and be working on the sequel

    and Billy Bragg Brickbats

    I steal a kiss from you in the supermarket
    I walk you down the aisle, you fill my basket
    And through it all, the stick I take Is worth it for the love we make

    I used to want to plant bombs at the Last Night of the Proms
    But now you’ll find me with the baby, in the bathroom,
    With that big shell, listening for the sound of the sea,
    The baby and me

    I stayed in bed, alone, uncertain
    Then I met you, you drew the curtain
    The sun came up, the trees began to sing
    The light shone in on everything.
    I love you.

    sniffle.

    Thanks for doing the interview, you were fabulous. Cx

  2. I am not putting my hand up for this meme as I am way too lazy to think at the moment.

    I am though really enjoying the responses and your love song choices are gorgeous.

    I love “There she goes” – I’m pretty sure I first heard it in “So I Married an Axe Murderer”

  3. Well Done Tracey.

    It’s actually not the love songs that get me but the sad yearning songs that ususally get me. Lots of Paul Kelly songs push my buttons, like “If I could start today again”, or “From little things, big things grow” and I have a love for musicals – Les Mis and all that. When it comes to happier love songs, I love Jazz hits from the likes of Ella Fitgerald – and anything at all from Harry Connick jnr. It is actually really hard to think of specific songs so good work!

    I really understood your answer about balance – I think we have that here in the house of Matching Pegs, and agree wholeheartedly. It is so much more important to me than big ambitions. We have a little house, but we can sleep at night without the stresses that would eat away at our mental health.

    I may take a little while to write answers (with three kids keeping me company every minute of the day thanks to school holidays), but I’m prepared to play 🙂

  4. Good choices all, no love song list is complete without the Beach Boys.

    My favorite: God Only Knows (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BC_UILNwWrc&feature=related)

    I may not always love you, but long as there are stars above you
    you never need to doubt it, I’ll make you so sure about it.

    And when Jaxon was a wee baby I used to sing him “I Will” by The Beatles…only I could never get through it because I would get too choked up. Even now I am getting teary….

    When I saw Paul in concert I was thrilled he sang this song — and I cried through the whole thing.

    Who knows how long i’ve loved you
    You know i love you still
    Will i wait a lonely lifetime
    If you want me to–i will.

  5. Rob and I have the “Hugh Clause”… If the Hughs Grant or Jackman stop by… I get an hour (at least) alone with them.

    I love “There She Goes”…. I love that movie so, Mary!

    One of my favorites is “All I Ask of You” from Phantom of the Opera

    “Then say you’ll share with me one love, one lifetime; let me lead you from your solitude. Say you need me with you, here beside you,
    anywhere you go, let me go too, Christine, that’s all I ask of you.”

    I also love your answers…. especially the one about balance. Rob and I have made some pretty clear choices that mean less money but also less stress and more time together as a family. We have the same hopes for our children. That the love we have given will mean so much more than the stuff we have not given.

  6. That was a fascinating post – loved reading all your answers and I’m totally with you on Johnny Depp. I’m tempted to do the interview but know it could be a while before I answer as I’m so busy.

  7. My first reaction was the accoustic guitar and duet and to the lesser extent, the lyrics of circa 1992 Extreme’s “More than Words” quickly comes to mind. See:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kt7L4X4li_k

    However, I think the Beatles’ “I Will” is one of my favorite love songs!

  8. True to form, my ultimate love song is a lot more needy and dramatic than the others who have posted here.

    I don’t think you can go past Nilsson’s “Without You”. The whole song really.

    “I can’t live…if living is without you, I can’t live, I can’t give anymore…”

    Unchained Melody always does me in too.

    MDH knows that if when Michael Buble turns up, move aside.

  9. Loving these Q and As. Delilah is one of my favourite ongs, too. You have chosen some wonderful songs, and this interview was answered so interestingly. You and stomper make a good combination.

  10. Great set of questions and terrific answers.
    This interview thing has been the best for getting people to reveal parts of themselves.

  11. h&b

    I am still working on my interview, in which, strangely enough, you feature ( figure that one out ! ) .. should get onto that .. bah !

    Wil Anderson ? He’s all yours. I love a comic, but he just doesn’t tickle any of my fancies *at* *all*. Gah !

    Lovely interview
    xx

  12. Meet me in the middle of the air (Paul Kelly).
    To her door (Paul Kelly).
    Am I ever gonna see your face again (The Angels)
    I’m coming home (The Radiators)
    Harley and Rose (Black Sorrows)
    Sometimes when we touch (Dan Hill)

    Love is nothing, if not diverse ~ or maybe that’s just me being weird?

  13. Addendum: I suppose “Mona” by Craig McLachlan doesn’t count? LOL

  14. I’m with you on the Johnny Depp thing … yummmm… x

  15. Wonderful interview from Stomper, & such satisfying answers from you, Tracey.

    All I can think of are really OLD love songs, so I wont add them..

Leave a Reply

