The Recital

This morning I went to watch my beautiful niece perform two pieces on the keyboard for her classmates.

therecital1

She carried herself with confidence and a smile to the front of the room.

therecital2

She took the task seriously and read the music, playing melody and chords using both hands.

therecital3

She was accompanied by a recorder and kept one eye and one ear on the recorder player to keep perfect time.

therecital4

She finished with a flourish and took a mighty bow – beaming all over.

These are the things that make my day.

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “The Recital

  1. She sounds very musical. I love the focus in her face, and wish I could have seen the big flourish-y bow. Were you too busy clapping your hands off at that point?

  2. She bowed behind all the chairs so I couldn get a clear shot of it.

  3. M

    How gorgeous. Some kids just get it (the performance) don’t they!

  4. I love the look of intense concentration on her face. Reminds me of when I was little and played the piano…

  5. I love that look of focus on her face too. So determined. I took 8 years of piano lessons and now wish I had spent more time and effort on practicing and keeping up with my skills. I doubt I could hack out Mary Had a Little Lamb anymore.

  6. She’s gorgeous! And such a blondie! Love the nail polish!

    Ooh, I might get in trouble for ! overuse, but I don’t care.

  7. She is absolutely gorgeous – I would have loved to have heard her play!

  8. Oooo lovely. Isn’t she gorgeous?

  9. Such concentration! I can tell you are a very proud aunt!

  10. twolimeleaves

    Congratulations, beautiful girl!

  11. What a wonderful, heart-warming post. I have only one complaint – you have an unfair share of the Beauty gene in your family.

  12. So precious! Such rapt concentration.

  13. I love this time of year! I just adore all of the performances and their total delight to share it with us.

  14. She is indeed beautiful.

    So you and Peppermint Patcher go to the same recitals? How interesting.

  15. Gosh, I am so dumb! I thought this was someone else’s blog! I remembered it was yours the second I clicked “Submit”. Gaaaaaa…..

  16. How lovely she is. I bet you were bursting with pride.

Leave a Reply

