Quilt for France

I have made a quilt to for the family who have cared for Ashleigh while she has been in France this year. They have done so much for her, much more than was required of them.

It is a big quilt – two and a half metres square, so it can be used on as a bed quilt. I can’t say that I’m in love with the quilt. These are not fabrics I would choose for myself, but I have it on good authority that they will love these colours and that they are perfect for their home.

I do love the feathers on the blocks though.

I’m looking forward to the day, very soon, when I can give it to its intended owners in person because…

It is two weeks today until my Pete and I fly to France. We picked up all of our documents last week.

Ashleigh has a itinerary organised for us which will have let us see all that she has enjoyed for the past eight months. Paris, London, Lille and the area around Pithon – where she has been based. When Ashy organises something it is done comprehensively, so we won’t miss a thing!

We’ll spend two and a half weeks in Europe. Then, just three days after we get back to Townsville, Ashleigh will follow us home. The reasons for this are complex. The level of support that Ashleigh has required since the death of her friend is not available in France. Her return to France after the funeral has highlighted some systemic issues surrounding the exchange program. After much thought and quite a few tears we have decided that she needs the support of her family. This decision, once made, has brought calm to us all. We  know its the right thing to do.

We are all counting days…

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Quilt for France

  1. Oh my – I can barely breathe with excitement for you!

    And the feathers on the quilt are my favourite part too – like you I am not certain about the colours but know that you would have stitched this with love and gratitude.

    And the decision about Ash is such a good one I feel. I think you did the right thing in sending her back despite how terrible that must have been for you all. It seems though that you have reached an excellent compromise in bringing her home when you are –

  2. I agree. I hope you enjoy every single moment of your trip.

  3. I’m sure you will have a wonderful trip. And it will be wonderful to have your daughter back home with you too.

  4. Such a lovely quilt. Have a wonderful trip!

    Wishing the best for you and your family –

  5. Love those feathers. Love the excitement I can almost touch about the trip to France. And the timing of Ashleigh coming home couldn’t be better…. she’ll end her trip on a high note! Thinking of you all.

  6. What an incredible gift! This quilt is just os gorgeous! I hope you have a wonderful trip!
    ~Emily in Norway

  7. That is a beautiful quilt, i’m sure the recipients will love it and treasure it (I like the feathers too). And I hope you have a wonderful trip. I am sorry to hear that A isn’t getting the support she needs, until you get there. x

  8. grandma

    And we will be there in 3 weeks. It has been a traumatic time for us to finally have our tickets, but e-tickets that say Cairns-Hong Kong Hong Kong-Paris look so good to me. One week in Paris then join the Petersen family (sans Pip) for Ashleigh’s 18th birthday. Please let Europe have an extended summer with warm weather!

  9. twolimeleaves

    I’m very good at carrying quilts.

    Just saying.

  10. The quilt is a very thoughtful gift for her host family; I always admire your quilting skills!

    The trip to France will be a lifetime highlight!

    I’m sorry to read of the challenges Ashleigh faced since her recent return to France. Hopefully future exchange students will benefit from her experiences.

  11. I must say that I am a little like Mary … I am so very excited for you! And they get a quilt!

  12. Well, I like your quilt Tracey, both for your impeccable workwomanship and the abundance of purple bits in it! Oh, have a gorgeous time in France. How blissful t have someone organise it for you too! I’m glad Ashleigh is coming home with you too. I think you’ll all feel much better.

    And what is your poor neglected son doing while the rest of you swan off to the continent? Is a nice aunt taking him in?

  13. You know your daughter best. Sometimes you just have to listen to your gut! I’m sure this decision is best for all of you. i’m just glad that you and YP still get to go to Paris! Hope you have a great time…..

  14. I’m so excited for you! The trip, the homecoming…and I’m quite certain that Ashleigh’s hosts will be very touched by your quilted gift.

  15. Have a wonderful trip.

    I’m sure the quilt will be cherished – the colours are fab.

  16. M

    Wow, you are just a master. They will LOVE that quilt. Have a completely amazing time in Europe. You will very soon all be together again!

  17. alialmost40

    How exciting to be in the final countdown to your trip. Love the quilt – and I’m sure the recipients will too – how could they not?

    I’m glad making a decision about Ashleigh’s return has brought calm to you.

  18. My eyes have just turned green. I hope you take a trillion pictures and I get to see them all. And if not all, then at least the pictures of how thrilled the recipients will be of that gorgeous quilt!

  19. That quilt is very vibrant!!
    Enjoy your trip.

  20. That sounds fun. The quilt is beautiful!

  21. What a wonderful time for you and your family. Oh how one loves France and how one loves homemade quilts!

    Enjoy your time in Europe, but one thing I am not envious on, is that bloody plane trip over! *smirk*

Leave a Reply

