Memeeting my Obligations

An age ago M of Easternmax asked me to complete a meme. Life intervened and I have been slow to respond, but I have not forgotten my obligation – so here it is:

Six places I have lived: Rockhampton in Queensland (I was born there), Townsville in Queensland, Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane – it’s only five, but as far as I am aware it is the complete list.

What I was doing ten years ago: Our house was just six months old and we were busy, busy, busy. We were establishing our home and gardens, working full-time, parenting full-time.

Ashleigh, the ever-fashionable, was seven…

and Pip, the ever-cheeky, was three.

We had our hands full, but it was an exciting time for us. My most sincere wish is that I could have had a digital camera and a blog at that time. We were all so happy. I am most proud of the fact that my Pete and I have been able to give our kids a happy life. In every photo I see their happy, confident faces, each with their own personality shining through.

Five things on my to-do list today: Buy some thread (done), go with my Pete to the pet shop to buy more fish (done), washing (two loads done, more tomorrow), hand-stitching on my quilt (an on-going job), pick Ashleigh up from her friend’s house. (I’ll do this in about half an hour).

Snack I like to eat: dried pineapple, paw-paw and raisins, blanched almonds, oranges (but only navel oranges), strawberries, lindt chocolate.

If I was a billionaire: I’ve broken this into three sections.

philanthropic: I’d set up a charity to purchase quality children’s books and provide them to famiies who need support. I hate to think that anyone considers books as a luxury – they are a necessity. I’d set up some scholarships to support students who have to move a long way from home to study in their chosen area.

family: no member of my family would have a mortgage and they’d have access to all the funds that they needed to travel. They could take care of their day to day expenses themselves. Billionaires are harsh like that.

selfish: I’d buy a warehouse in a trendy place and get my Pete to design a renovation to make it our studio home. I’d invite Kevin McCloud to record its progress. He would say it was the most exquisite design he had even witnessed. We’d live in our studio home forever and create beautiful art every single day while we listen to music on the most kick-arse stereo system in the entire world.

Lastly I am going to leave you with a most beautiful song. This is not technically part of the meme, but it is on a loop in my head right now, so I thought I’d share it.

I know I’m late to the party here and most of you have already done this meme, but if you haven’t it is yours!

PS thanks for my birthday wishes too. I had a lovely day. Having the four of us together was unexpected, but highly appreciated.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Memeeting my Obligations

  1. can I come to dinner while Kevin’s visiting? Yum. Love the song – don’t think I’ve heard his version before but I like it. I was all “w00t, Magritte in a music video!” heh.

  2. Hope you have a nice weekend :o) Thanks for sharing that video. The song was very pretty and the video was cute. It reminded me of that video they always made us watch in French class in elementary school… something about a boy with a balloon… but I think it was green. Can’t remember. Oh well!
    xox,
    Linnea

  3. Precious. I particularly like the way Pip is standing on the sides of his feet in the first photo.

  4. Lovely to read your answers to the meme – I always find these fascinating. Thanks for sharing the song.

  5. I too always love reading the answers to memes. Gives you further insight to the people who have become friends.

  6. I enjoyed your answers and if Kevin comes around, can I get an invite??? I quite enjoy that song – I have the I Am Sam soundtrack – it is hard to choose a favourite song from it…

  7. Now that we are sisters and all that does that mean that you are going to take care of our mortgage? Thanks! Can’t wait for you to become a billionaire! Really nice song!

  8. Look how blonde your Pip was. I wonder if my boys are going to lose their blonde locks….

    If you become a billionaire I would like to talk to you about investing in a great little tap studio in Melbourne’s inner north.

  9. Jennifer C

    Lovely post. Love the pics of Ashleigh and Pip – I cannot believe the last ten years have gone so quickly. You have inspired me to do the meme too….
    Love the song – it’s bittersweet huh? I remember that feeling, that conviction that what I knew would never change and then a tragedy happens and it is never quite the same again. KNowing this makes this song all the more poignant for me.

  10. So sorry to read on my return from holiday about Ashleigh’s friend. I lost two friends to car accidents when we were all 23. I still remember them so clearly – I’m 58 and have had so many years that were denied to them.

  11. Thankyou, thankyou thankyou.

  12. If Kevin comes around, I’d like an invite too please! There is something incredibly addictive about that man.

    Lovely 10-years ago pics!

  13. Pearls really make an outfit shine. Pip is a doll. I’m sure he loves you posting his early years pictures. What a happy time.

  14. h&b

    Glad you had an ace birthday. Love the photos – especially Pip’s stance. I see that in my boy. Too cool for school 😉

    I often fantasise about doing some big tasteful artisan-created, bespoke home that Kevin McCloud ooh’s over. And we too fantasise about erasing the family mortgages. And feeling quite Princely as we do it ( like sprinkling fairy dust – most satisfying )

    But most of all – the intermanet. Oh, how I have embraced it in its’ various forms over the 12years I have been connected. Oh, my delight at finally discovering other Australians, and then the wonder of blogging ( shits all over personal homepage designing .. ) and flickr – everything is so EASY now, and delightful, and connected, and oh!

    And when I think back to my letter-writing and largely unconnected, out-of-touch-on-your-own exchange days, I envy Ashleigh the blog too. But not in a nasty envy way. Just a gee, I wish.

    wow I can rabbit on when I want to :p

Leave a Reply

