A Sad Homecoming

Ashleigh does not have a sister. She is lucky enough to enjoy the bonds of sisterhood with a very close group of friends.

These girls love each other dearly, care for each other deeply and look out for each other constantly.

This week, through no fault of her own, one of Ashleigh’s dearest friends, one of her sisters, was killed in a car accident. Just eighteen years old with a future filled with promise. She was doing all the right things. She just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time and an out of control driver ended her life.

The whole of our city is in a deep shock. Ashleigh is devastated. We have arranged for her to fly home from France for the next two weeks. She needs to be amongst the people who love her most, the people who understand.

We have craved Ashleigh’s company and physical presence for so many months. We could not imagine that it would come at such a great cost to us all.

26 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

26 responses to “A Sad Homecoming

  1. My thoughts and prayers are with you all Tracey – especially with Ashleigh. It’s good that she will be back with those close to her.

  2. I am so, so sorry to hear of this news. My heart goes out to Ashleigh as she deals with an issue so big. Thoughts of support and comfort to you, Tracey, and your family.

  3. twolimeleaves

    We’ve shed tears today for a girl we never met. You are right – the whole town is in shock. It’s good that Ashleigh is coming home. You are a wise mother.

  4. Ginger

    I’m so sorry to hear this news Tracey. My thoughts are with you, Ashleigh and your family.

  5. Thinking of Ashleigh, her friends and you and your family too. It is a tragedy. x

  6. M

    Oh man, this is terrible. My thoughts are with you all, and especially Ashleigh who will have too much time, or will it be just enought time?, to think on the plane ride home.

  7. What a horror. So hard to make any sense of such dreadful things.
    I’m thinking of you, Tracey, and Ashleigh, and especially this poor young woman’s family.

  8. Thinking of you and praying for you, especially Ashleigh and this poor girl’s parents, extended family and friends.

  9. I am so sorry. My thoughts are with you, Ashleigh and her friend’s family.

  10. Such terrible news. I wish I could say something to ease the pain but the truth is that a loss like this changes lives forever. Wishing you all courage as you learn to live with your grief.

  11. This is such terrible news. A similar story here where a boy of 22 was walking along the pavement and was hit by a car last week. I hope Ashleigh finds strength and courage amongst her loved ones at this sad time. x

  12. I am so, so sorry to hear such tragic news. I hope Ashleigh finds some comfort being back at home with you all. Thinking of you…

  13. Words do seem inadequate at this time. May you all find great comfort in each other’s presence – of course you will – my thoughts, you know, are with you all and the family of Ashleigh’s dear friend.

  14. Love and thoughts to you, Ashleigh and all who knew this beautiful young girl.

  15. I’m so sorry to read this, this morning Tracey. A very sad homecoming indeed for Ashleigh. Terrible. My thoughts are with you all…

  16. So glad you are bringing Ashleigh home – family is so important at times like this. Thinking of you and your family and the young girls family.

  17. Times like this make me realise how very fragile our lives are … and make me want to curl up and hold my babies and never let them go.

  18. So sorry to read this, Tracey. I’m glad Ashleigh can come home. Wishing strength and God’s blessings for all of you.

  19. I am so, so sorry. I’m heartened by reading that Ashleigh and her friends will be surrounded by friends and family.

  20. Hugs to Ashliegh, & thoughts to you all. Too sad. xx

  21. My heart goes out to all of you. I hope being around loved ones helps you all.

  22. How sad to hear,just visit your blog for the first time and came across your sad story!Wish you and Ashleigh all the best!
    regards Laura

  23. h&b

    I am so sorry to hear this Tracey. And what a sad flight for Ash to be making home.

    Take care of each other.

    😦

    xx

  24. I’m so very sorry Tracey.

    xox

  25. Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear. I’m very sorry. My heart goes out to all of you.

  26. Such a sad, sad thing to happen.

Leave a Reply

