Infinity of Uniqueness

I watched an episode of the ABC TV show compass last week. The focus of the episode was the poet Barbara Blackman. In my ignorance, I had not heard of her before, but she was an immensely interesting subject who has led a fascinating, passionate life.

One of the things she said that really struck me was that the whole universe was an infinity of uniqueness. No two leaves were the same, no two people were the same. What an incredible thought. When I deeply reflected on it and considered how many people there are, how many fish in the sea, how many trees on the land, how many leaves on all of the trees… it is almost too difficult to imagine.

But it is a truly beautiful thought…

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Infinity of Uniqueness

  1. Mind blowing isn’t it?

  2. Makes you feel so small when you hear things like that. Great little post.

  3. What great trees, did you shoot them?

    I feel quite small, now!

  4. Beautiful.

    It amazes me to think of the power and complexity contained in the tiniest of things, a nucleus for example and the amazing complexity in large things, galaxies for example. Fascinating to think about.

  5. I took the photo of the enormous Kauri pines at paronella park north Quensland

    http://www.paronellapark.com.au/history.html

  6. It is a very boggling thought. I’ve been pondering lately on the fragility of life, of how once the life is extinguished you can’t bring it back and trying to wrap my head around the whole notion then of what life is and how it is a miracle, when you look at it like that.

  7. I just love the phrase itself – the infinity of uniqueness – so beautiful.

  8. M

    It’s lovely to be thought of as unique. I’ll try to remember that as I feel like a sheep being herded down the aisles of my local supermarket in ways divined by The Marketing Department tomorrow morning.

  9. Isabelle

    Yes. I’m always astonished that no two faces are the same. Identical twins are nearly the same but as for the rest of us.. you’d think that there were only so many variations of two eyes, one nose, one mouth…

  10. It’s true.

    And just think, no two hair cuts are the same either. Which can either be a blessing or a curse, depending on whether you loved or hated your last one.

    And don’t even get me started on the differences between one nail artist and the next. I hope my next one isn’t like the one I had last week!

  11. Certainly food for thought there.

    The trunks of your Kauris have wonderful patterns – very similar to our NZ Kauris.

    Keep thinking. Keep marvelling. Be happy.

  12. soozadoo

    Did anyone else start singing,

    ‘The universe itself keeps on expanding and expanding
    In all of the directions it can whizz
    As fast as it can go, at the speed of light, you know,
    Twelve million miles a minute, and that’s the fastest speed there is.
    So remember, when you’re feeling very small and insecure,
    How amazingly unlikely is your birth,
    And pray that there’s intelligent life somewhere up in space,
    ‘Cause there’s bugger all down here on Earth.’

    to this post?

  13. Incredible, indeed, as is your wonderful photo. Perfect for that post.

  14. I remember as a teenager discovering that it made my head hurt to think about infinity. So now I just accept it.

    But you’re right. It is truly amazing.

  15. Even our two halves are different.

  16. I’ve never heard of this poet either but that is an incredible thought.

Leave a Reply

