Up and at ’em

My daughter is a pragmatic, practial girl. She is a lot like her father that way. It is a quality that I don’t always share.

She read my previous post when she came home from schoolies. She looked at me and said, “You don’t know who you are? You are Tracey. That’s all there is to it. You are Tracey.”

Of course I am. I should have realised.

Did I mention that she wants to study psychology at university? I think she’s made for it.

Thanks for your comments and emails. Up and at ’em!

(Oh, thanks to that person who found my blog by doing a search for ‘young, cool quilters’. You have made my day.)

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Up and at ’em

  1. Yeah, you’re you and I’m me! And that might have been me doing that Google Search… *heehee*

  2. Well, there you have it. Sometimes we think to much. I had a similar “make your day” moment yesterday. I new woman at work attended a meeting I was running. Afterwards just the two of us met on an item. She finally had the nerve to ask my age (47). She was surprised because she was sitting in the meeting wondering why this “young girl” was running such a big meeting. I didn’t hug her but I wanted to! Then I cam home, got a migraine and felt 67. It all balances out in the end!

  3. Glad to have you, whoever you are, back.

  4. And how does that make you feel? [The prospect of having your own, private therapist?]

  5. twolimeleaves

    Well, there you go. Not much else to say, is there? I bet she often gets the Last Word!

  6. I hope she keeps her clear vision all her life and doesn’t get muddled by insecurity like so many of us do.

  7. Young,cool quilter? I’m jealous. Most of my google traffic comes from people wanting to get telegrams from the Queen…

    Your daughter is fantastic. But you know that already.

  8. Hmpf. Having read Fairlie’s comments, I am now disappointed: I can’t get traffic even when I have a give-away! LOL! You are the only person who has found me via google because of the “Molly Goes to Paris” fabric. (Incidentally, I now tell others who can’t find my blog to find me the way that you did…)

    I think your daughter’s comments are why we have children: they keep us centered by their insights.

  9. the subtext to that of course was, shut your whining woman, wasn’t it? It sounds very much like her mother

  10. She is who she is because you made her that way. If that doesn’t make you proud of yourself you are a lost cause!

  11. Oh you are going to save a fortune on Therapy. Love the “young, cool, quilter”. I think you will have to change your moniker from Peppermint Patcher to “Young, Cool Quilter” and then post a picture of you posing all model like with your fabrics and your Dolce & Gabana sunnies.

  12. You are Tracey, cool young quilter, mother of two outstanding human beings, & wife to one outstanding man!
    You are all things to those people, & many more.

  13. Glad you’ve been enlightened as to who you are šŸ™‚

  14. riseoutofme

    Out of the mouths of babes …

    I hate it when those “hiccups” leave me feeling deprived of my sense of me … luckily, they’re only hiccups! Your daughter is a gem … anyone of mine would probably say “Oh Mum, get out of your head, you’re wrecking mine!”

Leave a Reply

