Out of Season

Our mulberry tree is exploding. Just a few weeks ago my Pete was going to cut it back because it was all stalky, but the weather has warmed and it has now has a nice coverage of green leaves. It also has lots and lots of potential berries.

out-of-season-1.jpg

In amongst all of these green, furry, immature berries I found one completely ripe mulberry. It is bizarrely out of synch with its fellow berries, prematurely ripe. Perhaps a pioneer berry.

out-of-season.jpg

So I ate it! It was delicious and incredibly juicy.

out-of-season-2.jpg

Now I can’t wait for the rest of them to ripen!

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Out of Season

  1. You know, if I had to choose, I think mulberries are my favourite kind of berry. My great Aunt had a huge old mulberry tree on her farm when we were kids. I have great memories of sitting up on a broad branch stuffing my face.

  2. Mmmmm. Like an appetizer for the whole season! Makes me crave berries and cream.

  3. Mmm-mmm…mulberries. Do local kids raid your tree for the leaves to feed their silkworms? (Do kids even *have* silkworms anymore?) We used to know all the neighbours that had mulberry trees, so we could knick a few leaves to keep our silkworms alive!

  4. It seems so odd that our berry season has ended yet I read that yours hasn’t begun and you are celebrating a premature berry! Altho the world seems smaller every day, it certainly hasn’t changed climate zones!

  5. Yum! But now I have that Here we go round the mulberry tree song in my head. Great. Oh. And probably so will anyone who reads this comment now. Sorry about that.

  6. Oh, wow. I don’t know that I’ve ever had a mulberry, but the one you photographed looks downright yummy!

  7. Ooohhhhhh – I love mulberries. My grandfather used to have an ancient mulberry tree on his farm and my cousins, siblings and I would spend wonderful afternoons picking mulberries – supposedly for Grandma to make jam, but really we just ate and ate and ate. I also have a photo somewhere of me stealing mulberries from a tree at Nelson Mandela’s house in Capetown. Those ones didn’t taste as good as the ones from my childhood, though.

    If you find you have too many…..

  8. give it about a month and I’ll have too many!

  9. I have many fond memories of climbing mulberry trees and eating their berries when young – they are some of my best memeories actually. I still love the taste of them but they need to be eaten straight from the tree – I can’t bring myself to by them in plastic containers at the supermarket – sacrilege!

    And I like your phrase “organised days of appreciation” – we are a bit blase about them too – where’s the spontaneity?

  10. I have memories (like every second commenter here) of Mulberries at my parents place when I was growing up. Yum. Mulberry Jam was always in our pantry at home….

  11. yep, it’s in my head now Stomper, thanks!

    I wouldn’t know where the nearest mulberry tree is near my house. What I do know though, is that the local bats know where it is. They go there, they eat them, then they poop mulberry coloured poop on my car, my washing, my cat.

    I suppose I have just put everyone off the delicious mulberries now, huh? 🙂

  12. I dont think I have ever seen a Mulberry or a Mulberry tree! They look delicious.

  13. ditto – to what Tanya said. Though I wouldn’t have stolen any from Nelson.

  14. You know what they say about big paws on cute little puppies….Are your ceilings tall enough for how far up in the air he may eventually be?

  15. Tracey – you can see that photo of Tanya stealing mulberries from Nelson Mandela on my blog of 7 March 2006. The tree on the farm that she mentions didn’t have any mulberries on it for many, many years until Dad happened to plough the paddock. He must have cut some of the roots because it had massive crops every year thereafter.

Leave a Reply

