Education

Last weekend I borrowed a Monkey DVD for my son to watch. I felt that I had been a neglectful parent because he had never seen it. He loved it. He laughed and was transfixed by those mouths which move rapidly, but in no relation to the words being said. When the three episodes had finished he had no idea what had gone on, but was desperate to see the next DVD.

A few years ago I bought him a DVD of The Goodies and he has always found Monty Python absolutely riotous.

His education is proceeding nicely!

education.jpg

Edited to add: go and see my sister’s blog. My daughter is guest posting today on her weekly “come the revolution” spot.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Education

  1. ha! I loved Monkey (well actually his sideburns always disturbed me, but I did love Horse).

    I don’t see Red Dwarf on your list …

  2. Yes, I’m rounding out my boys with plenty of Muppets, I feel it’s what any good parent would do.

    Does he always read with his tongue out? I have a lot of tap-students who favour this method of concentrating.

  3. soozadoo

    In the worlds before Monkey, primal chaos reigned. Heavens sought order. But the phoenix can fly only when its feathers are grown. The four worlds formed again and yet again, as endless aeons wheeled and passed. Time and the pure essences of Heaven, the moisture of the Earth, the powers of the Sun and the Moon all worked upon a certain rock, old as creation. And it became magically fertile. That first egg was named “Thought”. Tathagata Buddha, the Father Buddha, said, “With our thoughts, we make the World”. Elemental forces caused the egg to hatch. From it came a stone monkey. The nature of Monkey was irrepressible!

  4. I tried to embed that youtube link, but it didn’t work…
    Born from an egg on a mountain top

  5. When Monty Python was on TV here my sons would watch it and laught so hard, they would have tears in their eyes.

  6. Pip

    DAMN STRAIGHT I ROCK

  7. Glad to see you are taking such a keen interest in your the education of your son – glad to see that he is enjoying it so much too!!! Oh the Goodies were so great!!!

  8. What is an education without some TRUE classics thrown in? Loved Monty Python… and Fawlty Towers too. Everyone knows you can concentrate better if you have your tongue in just the right position.

  9. Monkey was so popular when I was at school that the school would hold Monkey-look-alike competitions! Much as I loved that show, I didn’t know what was going on either….

  10. Ahhh…The Goodies…Ecky-thump and Big Bunny. I see you’re giving him a Classical Education.

  11. What a pretty blanket. I have a whole kitchen full of watermelon things.

Leave a Reply

