Family Wedding

Yesterday we attended the wedding of my cousin. We had been worried because it was an outdoor wedding and Townsville has been having miserable weather. We have had the coldest and wettest June days in recorded history this month. I wouldn’t be surprised to learnt that it was our coldest June ever. Yesterday at 3pm the weather was magnificent.

wedding-family.jpg

The view behind this photo is across the ocean to Magnetic Island. The photo does not do justice to the colour of the sky, it was just spectacular. 

The ceremony was beautiful. My cousin has a son from a previous relationship. so the vows were written to include him. It was made explicit through the ceremony that the bride was marrying to become a family, not a couple.

This theme continued into the reception. My aunt made a magnificent three tiered wedding cake for the bride and groom to cut.

wedding-cake.jpg

She also made a chocolate family cake for the family to cut. (There are actually three little people on the cake.)

wedding-family-cake.jpg

There were tears, laughter, drinking and dancing. What more could you want from a wedding celebration?

My Pete even took a photo of me. Generally I am the photographer, but I worry that one day when I go missing and they have to show a photo of me on the news…it will be a photo taken twelve years ago and no one will ever find me because they’ll be looking for someone much slimmer with fewer wrinkles!

wedding-tracey.jpg

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Family Wedding

  1. I loved that the vows included the son. I recently attended an engagement party and the 2 adults had 3 kids between them. No mention was made of the kids, it was all us, us, us and God, God, God (they met through a religious website). I felt for those kids – who were aged 8 and up, and absolutely should have been included or thanked or made reference to. Because it will be such a change in their lives and they need to feel part of it.

    What a picturesque setting for the wedding, I hope it brings good omens to the happy couple.

    And such a nice photo of you too. Good on you, Pete! And Tracey, you look lovely, not fat and wrinkly as you would have us believe…

  2. twolimeleaves

    I agree, it’s so important to include the kids. Sounds as if they did a great job of that. I love your top, Tracey, and that cool necklace! Yesterday was perfect on the Strand. Pete and I went for a walk about 11:00 last night and had icecream (yes, it was a bit chilly!) and it was so still and beautiful.

  3. Lovely wedding, & so nice to think they included the boy.
    You look perfectly lovely Tracey.

  4. Great photos! Hasn’t teh sky been magnificent for the past few days! Gorgeous. And Maggie Island is one of my favouriet FNQ places to visit…ahh…

    I know the day that Lyndon and I (finally) get hitched, our Monet will definitely be part of the ceremony.

    You looked lovely and I know about the old photo thing, that’s why I get someone to take a photo of me now and then!

  5. Lovely pic of you,Tracey! love those sea and sky blues too….

  6. All three look so happy! And what a gorgeous day for a wedding!

  7. h&b

    LOL !

    Gorgeous shots, gorgeous weeding !!

    I read this bit out loud to my husband: “one day when I go missing and they have to show a photo of me on the news…it will be a photo taken twelve years ago and no one will ever find me because they’ll be looking for someone much slimmer with fewer wrinkles!”

    !!

    Pure Gold
    ( you look stunning, BTW )

  8. h&b

    OMG – WeDDing .. not WEEding !!

    Apologies to the happy couple/family ….

Leave a Reply

